A detailed history of the awards dating back to its origination in 1957.

The College Football Coach of the Year Award began in 1957 and was renamed for Coach Bryant in 1986, following his death of a heart attack in 1983.  It has since benefited the American Heart Association.  The award honors excellence in college football coaching, both on and off the field.